Shirley Collins Photograph Katie Vandyck

"Shirley Collins is without doubt one of
England's greatest cultural treasures"

Billy Bragg

The Sweet Primeroses

Issued on LP record in 1967, re-issued on CD in 1995.

The first collaboration with Dolly Collins, and the first album to feature the 'trademark sound' of the portative pipe or flute organ, built by Noel Mander, copying a C17 model. 

  • All Things Are Quite Silent
  • Cambridgeshire May Carol
  • Spencer The Rover
  • The Rigs Of The Time
  • Polly Vaughan
  • The Cruel Mother
  • The Bird In The Bush
  • The Streets Of Derry
  • The False Bride
  • Locks And Bolts
  • Rambleaway
  • A Blacksmith Courted Me
  • Brigg Fair
  • Higher Germanie
  • George Collins
  • The Babes In The Wood
  • Down In Yon Forest
  • The Magpie's Nest
  • False True Love
  • The Sweet Primeroses

Italicized tracks first released as the EP 'Heroes In Love'

All tracks trad arr Shirley and Dolly Collins (Topic Music)

Additional musicians:

Dolly Collins, Peter Bellamy, Royston Wood, Heather Wood