Shirley Collins Photograph Katie Vandyck

"Shirley Collins is without doubt one of
England's greatest cultural treasures"

Billy Bragg

No Roses

Issued on LP record in 1971, re-issued on CD in 2005.

A seminal electric folk album. Shirley's Albion Country Band features, among many others, Ashley Hutchings, Richard Thompson, Nic Jones, The Watersons, Barry Dransfield and Maddy Prior.

  • Claudy Banks*
  • The Little Gypsy Girl
  • Banks Of The Bann
  • Murder Of Maria Marten
  • Van Dieman's Land
  • Just As The Tide Was A'Flowing
  • The White Hare
  • Hal-An-Tow
  • Poor Murdered Woman

All tracks trad arr Shirley Collins except:

* R & B Copper (Copper Songs)

Additional musicians:

Dolly Collins, Lal Waterson, Mike Waterson, Royston Wood, Francis Baines, Steve Migden, Roger Powell, Richard Thompson, Colin Ross, Alan Lumsden, Maddy Prior, Simon Nicol, Ashley Hutchings, Alan Cave, Lol Coxhill, Dave Bland, Tony Hall, Tim Renwick, Ian Whiteman, Barry Dransfield, Nic Jones, Dave Mattacks, Gregg Butler, John Kirkpatrick, Trevor Crozier